Resolution or Wishful Thinking?

At the end of every year, most of us gather around our thoughts and pinpoint where we did not live up to expectations, and what we intend to do about it. Then we top it off with more resolutions for the coming year. I failed woefully in my last year's resolution. Every day I'd pinch myself to get up and get on with it. Never seemed to leave the bed. Writing this article was one of them.

Last year came with a lot of wins for me but I was too engulfed with comparison and weighing the social media version of other people against my own life to notice. Every now and then, I tried to caution myself about the dangers of this unnecessary pressure I'm putting on myself and how the culture of ingratitude is becoming engraved in my heart. I still couldn't shake it off.

Procrastination was another battle. This article would have been an addition to its humongous conquest had I not said NO. This time, it came in the form of "let's wait till we have the perfect idea for the first article of the year, plus it's too early (time is currently 6:08)." I paid it no mind. I intend to remain deaf to all its wails and reason. I do not need my article to be perfect. I just want to get it out there. I have desired for so long to habitually publish at least one article every week. I want to be a technical writer but I can't be that if I don't write at all and keep waiting for the right time. All it'd be is wishful thinking.

Fell sick a lot last year. I was so hung on where I should be career-wise that my body started failing. Getting out of bed every day was a battle. I also couldn't get myself to do things that will help further my so-called career. I had classic depression. It wasn't easy but I thank God for his grace and mercy. He gave that daily nudge to get on with it.

I learned a lot this past year. Many through pain. This year 2023, I intend to not rewatch my all-time movie of resolution turned wishful thinking. Here's to a hand full of meaningful work and a heart full of contentment. Ciao !!